othernights

Entry, membership and vetting: how tickets to these nights actually work

By Other Nights. Last checked .

By Other Nights. Last checked 2 September 2026.

Sometimes you need a membership, often you do not. Across the 169 event series in the Other Nights index, membership is recorded as required on 62 and not required on 39, with the rest not stating either way. A further 49 series ask for an application before you attend, and 37 vet guests at the door or before booking.

Which gate you meet depends on the organiser. The named policies below were checked on 2 September 2026 against the organiser's own pages, or against the Other Nights index, last verified 1 September 2026.

How booking splits across the index

booking methodseries
advance tickets required22
advance or on the door18
no booking needed16
contact the organiser first16
door only4

Figures from the Other Nights index, last verified 1 September 2026. Not every series states a booking method, so the rows do not sum to 169.

Booking is only one gate. Membership, applications and vetting sit on top of it, and each organiser combines them differently.

Klub Verboten: three routes in

Klub Verboten publishes three ways to reach the door. The Steelyard's page for the club's tenth anniversary spells them out in capitals: "BECOME A MEMBER ONLINE ... GET VETTED IN PERSON AT TEARS FOR BEERS ... BUY A TICKET + GET VETTED EACH TIME YOU ENTER THE MAIN EVENT." Tears For Beers is the club's own social night.

Membership itself costs nothing. The membership page puts it plainly: "Membership is free; we just charge a small admin fee for a human being to process your application." The size of the admin fee is not stated. Membership cards can be stored in Apple and Google Wallets. Vice reported the club grew to over 3,000 members with more than 5,000 applications waiting to be processed. The club describes itself as a culture project rather than nightlife: "A grassroots movement matured into tens of thousands of caring kinksters supported by the Arts Council England."

What membership changes at the door:

membernon-member
door vettingnonevetted again at every new event
queueskip-the-line entrylonger wait
entrymembership stands in place of per-event vettinga ticket alone does not guarantee entry
ticketsdiscounted, plus member-only allocationsstandard sale

From the Klub Verboten membership page and the Steelyard event page, checked 2 September 2026. A Pro-Perv tier adds free entry to all the club's global events.

Member tickets work through a code. Entering a membership number as a promotional code unhides discounted early-bird tickets while the allocation lasts, and the Steelyard page warns that "Once they are gone, they are gone, the code will expire for this event." Member tickets "cannot be purchased or transferred to non-members".

In the Other Nights index, every Klub Verboten series carries door vetting for ticket holders, with membership recorded as not required, and the listings repeat the club's own caveat: "A ticket alone does not entitle you to enter the event." See the Klub Verboten club nights and the Verboten social series.

The anniversary itself, 10 Years of Klub Verboten, runs Friday 4 September 2026 at Steelyard, London, doors at 22:00 and last entry at 02:00. Ticket support for the Steelyard listing runs through Weeztix, and past Klub Verboten events have also sold on DICE and Resident Advisor. No ticket price for the 10 Years event could be verified: the organiser's ticket module showed no active ticket data when checked.

Torture Garden: advance only, ID for everyone

Torture Garden's Halloween Ball 1, on 30 October 2026 at Scala, sells in advance only. The organiser's page states "no tickets will be available on the door", and on ID: "all customers, regardless of age, must present physical photo ID (not a photo on your phone) to be scanned upon arrival". Scala's listing for the 2025 ball said "all guests will need to fill out an online consent form to show on the door to gain entry to the event". Whether the consent form returns for the 2026 ball, or applies beyond the Halloween balls, is not stated on the organiser's current page.

Halloween Ball 1 at Scala, 30 October 2026detail
salesadvance only, none on the door
pricefrom £35.61, sold in timed arrival slots (early, peak, late, anytime entry)
low-income allocation50 peak entry tickets at £25 including fees
arriving late on an early slot£15 penalty
IDphysical photo ID, scanned on arrival, regardless of age
consent formrequired at the 2025 ball per Scala's listing; not restated for 2026
dress codeenforced at the door, no refund if turned away

Checked 2 September 2026 against torturegarden.com and scala.co.uk; the price is from the Other Nights index, last verified 1 September 2026.

The dress code is an entry condition in its own right. Torture Garden calls it "a strict and non-negotiable dresscode" and warns: "If you don't have an appropriate outfit on the night you will be turned away and NO REFUND will be given."

Not every Torture Garden event uses this machinery. The Sunday Slick sells anytime entry tickets and its listing says: "No dress code. This is a social event, not a play event."

Killing Kittens: only members buy tickets

Killing Kittens gates access at the point of sale. Its event pages state: "The only way to gain exclusive access to KK parties is by becoming a KK member or receiving an invite from one. ... Only KK Members can buy tickets, and have the power to bring one guest with them." The same pages state that men must be invited. Applications are reviewed and approved before membership is granted, tickets must be activated before the event, and photo ID has to match the ticket photo. The Killing Kittens Halloween ball listing carries the admission notes.

On fees, no current figure is published anywhere we could reach: the memberships page returns a 404 and the homepage routes joining through an external app. The only number on record is a one-star Trustpilot review dated 17 September 2024, from reviewer Keeley (GB), describing a £30 account verification fee paid to reach ticket purchase, a sold-out event on the other side, and a refund offer minus a £10 admin fee: "I've paid £30 to enter a ticket portal that when you get down to it is sold out." That is a single dated review rather than a published policy, and it is the only review the Trustpilot page holds, with none in the last 12 months.

Clubs: membership inside the booking flow

At clubs running couples and singles nights (the lifestyle scene), membership usually lives inside the booking flow, and who needs it can depend on who you are.

clubmembershipID asked forbooking
BiZarre Events, Londonmembers only; applied for automatically when reserving tickets; valid 12 months; paid at first attendancenot statedopens about a month before each event
Purple Mamba, Midlandsrequired, applied for in personphoto IDapplication plus vetting; one event admits non-members only via a partner group's guest list
Quest, Leedsprivate members club; non-members admitted only Tuesday, Wednesday daytime and Thursdaytwo forms, one government-issued photo IDnot stated
The Annexnone for MF couples and women; £5 lifetime Basic for single men; optional £30 yearly Premium open to everyonephoto ID for single mennone for couples and women; single men book ahead for some nights
Partnersoptional, £25, gives £5 off each visitnot stateddoor only
Decadancenot statednot statedno booking needed
The Attic Experiencenot statednot statedno guest list or reservations, first come, first served
The No3 Clubmembership of one of four external sitesnot statedfirst visit by phone to the club
Ourplace4funapplication confirmation requirednot statedno entry without application confirmation or a valid ticket
Jaydeesnon-members complete a membership applicationphoto ID and a utility billnot stated
Club Antichristnot statednot stated300 door tickets held back even after advance sellout, reservable once online tickets are gone

All rows from the Other Nights index, last verified 1 September 2026. "Not stated" means the organiser's listing does not say.

Some of those rows come from wording the organisers publish themselves. BiZarre Events folds the application into the ticket reservation: "You can only attend our events if you are a BiZarre Events Club Member. You'll automatically apply for membership when you RESERVE your tickets." The Annex splits its rules by group, in its own capitals: "MF COUPLES AND FEMALES DON'T NEED TO BE CLUB MEMBERS AND DON'T NEED TO BOOK TO ATTEND ANY SWINGERS PARTY". Partners advertises the opposite of a gate: "NO FAKE GUEST LISTS, NO NEED TO BOOK, JUST TURN UP". The Attic Experience is similar: "There's no guest list to put your name on, nor can reservations be made, so entry is strictly first-come, first-served." And Ourplace4fun states the hard version of the application gate: "Please note: you will be denied entry without application confirmation or a valid ticket."

Festival vetting: how Swingathon checks applicants

Swingathon, a festival at Allington in Lincolnshire, sold a record of roughly 1,000 tickets for its fifth year in mid-July 2025, at £210 for an individual weekend pass and £250 for a couples pass, with bell tent accommodation at £255 and day tickets also sold, price not stated in the report. Its gate is proof of standing rather than a ticket queue. Matt Cole, quoted in LADbible's July 2025 report on the vetting process, said: "Every person in this field is vetted, we don't just let anyone in...They all know the etiquette, they all know the rules, it's not the free for all that people think it is."

Acceptable proof, per that report: a username on FabSwingers, SpicyMatch, Pineapple App or GroupFun, which organisers cross-reference; membership of certain clubs, which the article does not name; a recommendation from a trusted regular attendee; or a direct case about your connection to the lifestyle. Anyone without standing, Cole said, "would have to join your local swingers club or join one of the apps".

LADbible's two 2025 reports differ on sexual health checks: the 29 July piece says attendees must show proof of recent STI tests, while the July vetting article puts it more softly, saying the festival encourages testing beforehand. Swingathon 2026 dates and prices have not been checked against the organiser's own site, and the festival is not currently in the Other Nights index.

Some clubs outsource proof the same way. The No3 Club states that membership of one of four external sites, which it names as Local Uk Swingers, FabSwingers, S.D.C and Swinging Heaven, is needed to attend its party events, and tells first-timers "For a first visit you MUST CALL THE CLUB" rather than turning up unannounced. Avant Garde Blackpool asks guest-list emails to include your fab profile name. Both policies are as recorded in the Other Nights index, last verified 1 September 2026.

What vetting looks like in practice

Across these pages, vetting takes four shapes:

  • in-person vetting at a social, after an online application: Klub Verboten
  • application review and approval before you can buy: Killing Kittens
  • an online consent form shown at the door: Torture Garden's 2025 Halloween Ball 1 at Scala, not restated for 2026
  • cross-referencing an external profile or standing: Swingathon and The No3 Club

ID checks run alongside: physical photo ID regardless of age at Torture Garden, photo ID matching the ticket photo at Killing Kittens, two forms of ID at Quest, photo ID and a utility bill at Jaydees.

Admission rules for the series named here, Swingathon aside, sit on each listing page. Start with kink and fetish nights in London, or browse the full listings for London, Manchester and Glasgow.

Sources and what we checked

Organiser and platform pages were fetched and checked on 2 September 2026.

All guides